#1

When I walked into the doctor’s room I was handed this lovely card filled with birthday wishes from the nurses and staff and Dr Tung. The people at the clinic are always so warm and cordial. The first thing that greeted me this morning was “how are you feeling today?” At the bp/weight/temp taking station, the nurse sounded so cheerful and enthusiastic that any patient could forget what/why they were there for.

#2

My blood counts were normal today, though liver was not. But the thing I was looking forward to was my PCR results which is a special blood test that has to be taken every 3 months apart from the other blood tests. Like the bone marrow biopsy, it tells me what’s going on inside. Is the treatment doing its job? Are the CML mutants meeting their doom (Muahaha)? I almost couldn’t sleep last night because I kept thinking and praying that it’ll be good news. At 6 months after treatment, it was 8.2% on the int’l scale. Well look, it’s gone done to 0.389%!! For complete remission to happen, this value should be 0%. At 9 months, this may not be ideal. But, at least, there is progress. =)